Question

Discussion in 'Trading' started by 800, Feb 6, 2009.

1. 800

I received a letter from FXCM to register for a MICRO Account and they would put $25.00...(that is correct "twenty five dollars) and any profits that I accumulate are mine to keep.

Well I did registered and like 4 days later sure enough there was $25.00 that I could trade with REAL money. The lots or contracts are in $1k and margin is $2.50. So hypothetically I could purchased 10 contracts of $1k for every $25.00.

Each pip on this MICRO Account represents .10 cents. So for me to make $1.00 on the on the EUR/USD as an example, I would need 10 pips

So I started trading and I did not deposited any money, just what FCXM had placed. And so I started trading $1k (1 contract) to $3k (3 contracts) at a time and the account is growing.

[​IMG]

Currently is at $107 and change and I am holding $4k over this weekend. $2k are showing a -$6.50 and another $2k is showing +$1.50

I wished I could trade the futures, but I have NO money to speculate or invest or what ever you want to call it.

So far I have collected 852 PIPS in the last 6 days, trading late in the evening or real early in the morning and 1 time regular "business hours". At times I hold over night and the worst MAX draw down so far has been $120 PIPS or $12.00.

My question would be what size of account would one need to really trade the regular full contracts? What I do not understand is what comparison in size would on need to be trading regular full size contracts, like $100k contracts?

How realistic is this account to grow into a $1,000 account? Then a $10,000 account? At what point, would it be wise to trade $10k (10 contracts)?

I realize that if the account started with $25,000.00 and not change anything on the trades (same size, same entry and exit) and I was trading $100k contracts then the account would be at $33,520 ($25k + $8.5k)

Thanks

[​IMG]

2. $100,000 contract
    $10,000 contract is 10% of the $100k