question to all mechanical traders

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by Emprise, Jul 24, 2006.

1. Emprise

Emprise

Good evening.

May be here’s somebody who can help me…

I wanna test a strategy with automated trading... nothing spectacular, i think i don’t have to re-invent the wheel. It’s a simple breakout strategy with 1 or 2 filters.

The idea is only in my head at the moment, and i will test it with some (one) actual back-testing programs.

I heard many about the “almighty” tradestation and other well-known software, but i have no experience with these tools and don’t know how good they really are.

As i said before, it’s just a simple strategy with some filters.

Could anybody of the ET experts in mechanical trading recommend any software or give some advice where to look at?

Do you know also where i can get reliable data for intraday testing (which supplier)? I heard that it is very important to have reliable data to test, otherwise you can forget your back-tests.

I read many threads on ET about mechanical trading and i think there are some people who are real experts in that business.

i hope someone to find...

Thank you in advance.

kind regards

emprise

2. lindq

lindq

Investor RT www.linnsoft.com with TrackData as a data provider

3. fader

fader

use excel - for most basic strategies, it's faster than any charting software - search for threads on clean data, you'll have to pay for the highest quality data - best of luck.

4. flag

flag

I warmly recommand to use MQL4 from Metaquotes

It is a free API, very easy to write automated strategy.
    and it also provides backtest for your "Expert Advisor".

check on their web site :
    http://www.metaquotes.net/download
    http://www.mql4.com/

I have been able to write my own strategy in less than a month and backtest it on several years.

And many brokers uses their platform called Metatrader.

5. dan05

dan05

I would suggest you use www.cqg.com as a data provider.