Question regarding world Bankrupcy

Discussion in 'Economics' started by bearice, Jan 19, 2010.

1. If the world assets are less than world derivatives does this mean the whole world is bankrupt.

I have no knowledge what derivatives are. Just know that derivatives are over-hyped phony instruments.

2. World assets are worth $400 Trillion to $500 Trillion. This includes real estates, stocks markets, world GDP, gold.

Whereas world derivatives are worth $600 Trillion to $700 Trillion.

Does this mean the whole world is bankrupt????

3. Google the word "notional" as it relates to derivatives and their (mis)reported values.

4. No, it means the first world will use its military might to acquire necessary capital from the third world.

Just as it has always done.

5. No. You are missing truckloads of knowledge.

6. $1000 trillion is the same as $1 quadrillion. Be on the lookout for people "throwing" that number around soon. :cool:

7. The way to find out if you are bankrupt is to find out if your income is enough to pay your bills. In the U.S. our income is not enough to pay our bills, therefore, we are bankrupt.

The world debt as of the end of 2008 was 60.96 trillion dollars
    The GWP (gross world product) was 61.22 trillion.

So basically the entire world is in debt about 1 years salary which doesnt sound like much, but try to remember that alot of governments right now are spending more than they make, so its going to get alot worse. 2009 tax revenue is going to be really bad. 2010 will be worse.

8. nicuss

nicuss