Question Regarding W formation

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by CalScholar, Jan 30, 2007.

1. I just began studying tech analysis, and I was wondering at one point you should enter a long position when you come across a w formation.

Specifically, I'm looking at TASR on a daily chart. Should one wait until it passes the 8.60 resistance? or is it best to buy now?

By the way, this is for educational purposes only. I'm still a student and am simply preparing myself for a career in trading. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks Elite Traders!

2. (1) Assuming that you believe a "W-formation" started in ~October-2006 at ~$10/share, you could wait for a breakout above $8.60 and hope that the market rallies up to $10 in order to complete the "W". (2) The other thing is that if you have a "feeling" about something happening, you have to be willing to trust your instincts and act on what you perceive without waiting for confirmation from other "indicators". (3) For now, get back to your New Haven dorm room and do your applied math homework.

3. ============

CAL;

TASR has probably found a yearly bottom, but there are plenty of better longs;
    1 year chart =down
    200dma =down
    50 day moving average =down
    20dma = down

Personally wouldnt want to even try a long profit here;
    prefer bottom fishing in farm pond. Jack Schwager has good TA books at any large library

Most of your ''w''TASR patterns are down past year;
    personally would find a better long than TASR.

Wisdom is profitble to direct

:cool:

4. Thanks for the replies!

Nazzdak, my "feeling" is that TASR is an altogether bad investment, but the chart provided a good illustration for my particular question. I figured that one should wait until the 8.60 level is reached, but the last book I read on TA was ambiguous on that point.