Question regarding spot prices

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by proptrader911, Aug 7, 2011.

1. Dear fellow traders,

I am an equity trader but recently got quite interested in trading futures. I have so many questions and thought that this was the best place to ask them. I hope that you can help me.

One of my questions is what sources I can use to get spot prices of all of the livestock commodities like lean hogs, feed cattle, live cattle or the other agricultural futures like coffee, cocoa, wheat, soybean, etc.

In addition I would like to ask you, if I desire physical delivery, where is the physical commodity going to be delivered? Is it possible to be delivered worldwide?

I would like to thank you in advance,

I greatly appreciate your help,

Kind Regards,
    Prop Trader

2. Regarding physical delivery, you have to be a "bonafide hedger" according to the definition. There are specialty futures brokers that can deliver storable commodities, but things like softs generally are only for producers, hedgers, or end users.

3. well, unless they changed it, anybody can get assigned delivery. Wheat corn and beans are for delivery in Chicago.

spot prices vary from locality to locality

check out agweb.com

I only recently started trading ags again, and I'm about ready to get out.

In the old days it was just Cargill and the Soviet Union. But now it's Goldman Sachs, and those boys are smart, and I don't like the idea of buying from them when they are selling.

Check out price moves in DEC corn. Supply and demand and weather explains some of it, but more of is explained by Wall Street.

I'm gonna go learn forex where a little guy still has a chance. I'd rather trade against the Federal Reserve and the Bank of Japan than Goldman and JP Morgan.