Question: my strategy has 45% winning trades but...

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by zwanatico, Jun 27, 2005.

1. I got 9% average return on winning trades and -3% average return on losing trades. (only 50 trades)

Do you think I could improve and be really successful (trading for a living) in a near future?

I am a discretionary trader.

My strategy is based on simple breakouts, support/ressistances, fibonaccis retracements, volume and a few more price signals.

BTW I have been stocktrading just 18 months. I've got many trading books (Elder, Market Wizards..).

Sorry for my bad English (i am Spanish)

Thank you.

2. jnash

jnash

How far back did you back-test your system?

Did you allow for slippage/commissions?

3. Have you though about doing a profit margin calculation?

The way I analyze my performance produces a profit margin number that can be further analyzed to show where I could improve.

For example, you might consider putting together the following spread sheet (I can post one here in excel if you want) with the following columns for each day of trading:

Gross PL | Net PL | Fees | Shrs Traded | Net Profit Per Share | # Trades | % Winners |

The Net Profit Per Share Column should give a true indication of your profit margin and you can see what costs the most (too many share, too little winners etc). You can see if your commissions are bringing you down or if it is your percent winners - whatever, it allows a breakdown of where the numbers are at on a daily/weekly/monthly basis.

Mike

4. =======

Zwanitico;

Your english is better than my spanish;
    and yes I believe you can trade profitable in a bull-uptrending market.

And besides i had a lawn mower brand named ''TORO''[spanish for bull];
    that grass cutter really cut the green grass down!!!!!!!

As far as trading for a living senior Zwanitico ,thats differs much from profitable trading;
    how much capital ???????????????
    and debt do you have???????????