Question From A Loser

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Hambone, Mar 22, 2003.

1. Hambone

Hambone

As much as I hate to admit it, I have totally sucked at trying to make a living at trading... but I haven't given up yet.

My question is this. If you had an overall loss for the year, would it be of any benefit, (possibly in a future tax year), to go ahead and do all the schedule C stuff and list expenses and the like, even though you can't deduct expense when your overall year was a loss.

In other words, if I go ahead and fill out all the forms, would I be able to carry forward those expense to later years like I would carry forward any losses greater than the max of 3k.

Thanks

2. yes if you qualify as a trader you would be able to carry forward a larger loss for use in future years. if you dont qualify as a trader you wouldnt gain anything.

3. Hambone

Hambone

By qualifying as a trader, I assume you mean by the fact that I have traded continually in an attempt to earn my living. I trade every day, all day. My wife has a separate job, but all of my time is spent in the endeavor of trying to make this my career, (I just have not yet turned the corner to profitability). Is that what you meant or is there some other qualification that you are referring to.

Now when you say "carry forward a larger loss", are you indicating that this years expenses, such as software fees, trading seminar expenses, books, ISP charges, etc., could be carry forward to future, (hopefully, profitable) years; and if so, where can I read about the rules concerning this?

Thanks for your help.

4. i think he's referring to whether you filed as a trader or not. i think this is something you are supposed to do BEFORE the current tax year.

well, i'm not a US tax payer, so i don't know all the details. do a search in the self employment section, or check out greencompany.com lotsa good info there.

5. graeco

graeco Guest