Question for Volume Experts

Discussion in 'Trading' started by fseitun, Nov 19, 2009.

1. fseitun

fseitun

Anyone can explain how the NYSE/NASDAQ adv-decl volume was negative and plunging the whole day while eminis were building a bottom and eventually rallied into the close?

How can this be?

Anyone with some adv-decl volume knowledge can shed some light on how this can be possible?

Bearish volume all day and the DOW rallied almost 100pts?

In addition, advance-decline ratio clearly pointed at a strong downtrend day yet the markets hit a bottom shortly after 11:00am ET and crawled back up from there.

Why weren't market internals showing any signs of recovery?

I'm not a volume expert by any means, but usually when the adv-decl volume produces a steady relentless climb/drop right off the open, the day translates into a trend day where the markets close near their HOD/LOD.

Today market internals showed a high possibility of a downtrend day but the markets did their own thing after 11:00am ET.

Anyone can chime in and explain today's controversy?

Thanks and good trading.

2. fseitun

fseitun

Up

3. Its more reliable when its not counter trend.

4. Divergence. I don't have it handy but I just saw a chart posted with Emini S and P made a new high, but AD line didn't. It's often a warning of a reversal to come.

5. fseitun

fseitun

You are talking about adv-decl lines, which is something else that is not treated in here.

I am referring mainly to adv-decl VOLUME LINES.

In fact, I am looking for volume experts to answer my question.

If you are one, then read my post more carefully.

6. fseitun

fseitun

Your statement makes no sense. What's more reliable? Countertrend? :confused:

7. Yes, ignore volume... Focus on price

8. Who said they have to be in correlation all the time ???