Question for Grob/Hershey

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by Stalker, Aug 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stalker

Stalker

Hey Grob,
    have enjoyed reading posts by you in different threads. Being a newbie I don´t understand more than half of what you say, but it has given me a lot of new thoughts on different topics, wich I find very valuable. I´m not so focused on who is right and who is wrong, I just wanna learn to look at the market from different angles.
    Anyway, seems to me like it´s your mission to answer questions here on ET so I thought you might be the right person to go to with some difficulties I´m facing:

1. I´ve been looking at volume spikes til my eyes bleeded the last two days. It became obvious to me that there´s a high probability that a spike signals either a upcoming reversal or a congestion area (hope it´s the right term, being a swede i´m not sure, what I mean is price moving sideways for a while or a small temporary pullback), people taking profits before the price continues to move.
    My question is - is there some concrete information to look for to determine (or higher the probability) whether the spike is an early reversal signal or just a sign that the trend will take a temporary pause? I mean something that you can see almost everytime in this kind of situations. I don´t find indicators to be that reliable for this purpose.

2. When using trendlines to get a clear picture of shortterm trends, which timeframe do you recommend? Which frame do you find most reliable?