Question about puts

Discussion in 'Options' started by mynd66, Dec 18, 2008.

1. mynd66

mynd66

I bought the Spy jan 16, 91 Put on tues 16th. It gained .30 after todays drop. I was confused why after looking at the chains for the same expiration why almost all of the OTM puts lost value today after Spy was down almost 2%. I thought that as the price moves closer to the strike, granted its still a few weeks from expiration, that the option should gain in value. I don't know what the price of the options were during the trading day, I checked them today and looked at all of the closing prices. Don't know if that is a factor. As you can see I am rather new to options but I am learning, reading, and taking some chances. Thanks -Ray

ps, just quick question... can you chart option contracts?

2. cfelicio

cfelicio

1 - you can chart option contracts, try thinkorswim platform for that

2 - volatility plays a big role in out of the money close to expiration options. look at vix today, dropped like 5%, the volatility on your options certainly dropped as well, causing them to lose value if the price movement is not very significant.

3. but after market closed (4PM) spy rallied. spy and its options trade until 4:15Pm

4. spindr0

spindr0

Closing prices can be misleading. The last option sale often doesn't correlate in time with the last trade in the underlying. Other reasons for weird EOD price relationships include closing at the bid or ask (particularly when ther's a large spread) and IV changes during the day (stock goes down and puts go down... and vice versa for calls).

IMHO, there's nothing to be gained from charting options. It's just a derivative of the underlying and time is better spent getting the underlying right :)

5. mynd66

mynd66