Question about MBA

Discussion in 'Economics' started by lasner, Oct 7, 2008.

1. lasner

lasner

Hey I have a question for anyone out there that has an MBA?

Has it helped you at all? Right now I'm applying to Temple. They are ranked in the top 50. Realistically I can't get into a top 15 school.

I'm looking to get ahead. With a college degree nowadays it gets you nowhere.

I was wondering how much it's advanced your career.

2. Mecro

Mecro

MBAs are becoming a dime a dozen in a shrinking money changing aka financial industry.

Learn a real trade, a technical trade, and you will be fine.

3. rwk

rwk

My school was ranked #9 the year I graduated, and it was a wasted effort for me. I am grateful for the opportunity to have gone, but I am just not executive management material. I'm too much a free thinker and free spirit for that world. But how was I to know that back then?

4. lasner

lasner

That's what I was afraid of. I don't want to shell out 60k and have it all go to waste.

I'm up in the air with what direction I want to go.

Temple told me the average salary after graduation was 80-90k

5. lasner

lasner

What school did you go to? Could you not find a job after graduation? Or did you just choose to not go into corporate america.

6. lasner

lasner

I need a different angle. The job market sucks for college graduates.

I'm working in sales right now and it blows...it's a rat race.

I'm thinking MBA maybe law school...but I'm really not interested in law.

I need to specialize in something

7. I'd go for it.

What's 60k worth these days? Just a few grand a year in utility.

While it's true an MBA has no where near the cache' of a decade or two ago, in an increasingly dire job market it gives you a leg up over the unemployed, undereducated masses.

I don't say this in jest: In a future world where an opening at McDonald's will attract hundreds of applicants at least you'll be able to find a job even if it's not the "ideal" job.

8. lasner

lasner