Question about Market Orders on Terra-Nova-MB

Discussion in 'Trading' started by IRAF, Jul 18, 2001.

1. IRAF

IRAF

Hello guys,
    I want your opinion on this matter as I am still pretty new to day-trading.

Today I was shorting VRTS, the stock has a lot of action after yesterdays announcement. When the stock started to pull-back at about 10 am I placed a Market order to buy a 100 shares an cover my position. I used ARCA as the route. My order executed 57 cents and about 40 seconds later!!!!!!!!!!!

Has this happened to anyone before? Is this normal? How can one trade lots bigger than a 100 if it takes 40 seconds to fill a 100?

Thanks in advance for all your help.

IRAF

2. Arca market orders are dangerous.....for the next few weeks that is. Under current (pre-SuperSOES)functionality, ARCA will seek to fill your order at the inside price by first matching with any available ECN volume. If there is insufficient volume with ECN's, then ARCA preferences a Market Maker...which is where the order can get into trouble.

As you may know, the Selectnet system can be frustratingly slow since the preferenced MM can essentially wait 30 seconds to respond, and if he has already filled a similar order and/or was in the process of updating his quote (moving it away) when your order was sent to him, he can simply decline it.

Thus 30 seconds after the fact, as the market is moving away from you, the preferenced portion is (hypothetically) declined by the preferenced MM, and ARCA must start all over again by preferencing another market participant/maker-potentially starting the whole unsuccessful process again. Eventually you will get filled but this is not a very effecient way to work the order when a stock is showing momentum on the same side you are on.