Question about bankruptcy

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by 2004, Feb 11, 2004.

1. 2004

Hey there...

I just had a quick question about the declaration of bankruptcy, and how it would affect one's chances of getting into the financial industry in general, and into a trading position in particular.

I have had a few years experience (2-3) swing trading with retail accounts, and did reasonably well at it a few years ago... however, a couple of years back I decided to take a risk and sunk all of my money (and more) into starting my own business, which has now pretty much failed. I'll spare you the gory details, but basically I am now in a position where it is prudent for me to declare personal bankruptcy to alleviate the large financial burdens which are being placed on me largely as a result of this business failure.

My question is this: if I wanted to pursue a career in the financial industry from this point onwards, and in particular as a trader, how much effect would declaring bankruptcy have on that effort? I wouldn't be going broke because of a long-term personal mis-management of money or because of trading losses, but because of a single business failure taken on an admittedly large risk. Are there any restrictions (officially stated or otherwise) on people entering the financial industry that have declared bankruptcy in the past?