Quest for financial freedom

Discussion in 'Journals' started by NominalSpeculator, Jul 6, 2017.

1. Hi folks, another wanabee trader joins the fray.
    I am a math grad who spent 6 months watching bloomberg in anticipation of bulge bracket banking interviews until it hit me that i started making sense of all this. This prompted me to read a lot more research and primers until i opened a CFD on demo futures account.

16 days/ 10K transformed to 120k/ GPR 4.6/ Max drawdown 35% (paper loss i patiently managed my margin until the position went my way)/Leverage on individual positions 50 to 100. Avg. leverage 60x/67% of good trades out of 147 trades

I only trade major G8 Indices, G8 Fx, Precious metals & oil/NG

My style combines traditional global macro (think Dalio, very modestly & my framework revolves around the real yield not debt), Sentiment judging for short term trading (CNBC for mid retail/investment pros), Bloomberg (institutional), FT (lagging narrative), Earnings releases, short term data etc...

I have a very strong command of corporate finance and theory, and can implement my own quantitative macro models which I developed to study the reactions to various kind of shocks in oil.

Intraday, Balodimas's style of averaging down your break even has left a lasting impression on me and is something I use a lot, the only condition for me is to have full proof confidence in my directional bet. A huge part of the exercice for me is to carefully manage my margin.

The only technical indicators i watch outside of Price are Volume/Various averages and the rate of change per period.

I convinced a good friend of mine to give me 10k to try with and will be starting in a few weeks as soon as i make a dashboard containing all the stuff i need to watch and learn the rest of the stuff I wanna study.
    Looking forward to share my views with other traders of all styles and learn from ya all.

murray t turtle likes this.