Queries before Openning an Account with IB

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by CodeX, Jul 16, 2011.

1. CodeX

CodeX

Hi all,

I am still new to trading and i have a few queries i would like to ask which will help me decide on the best account settings with IB. It would be very much appreciated if someone can fill me in on:

1) Pro Market Data Bundle vs Non-Pro

I am a Non-Pro but i would like to know why the difference in pricing? Is it only because someone is considered profesional while the other is not? or does the Pro-Guys who pay more money get access to more in-depth data than the Non-Pro Guys who pay less?

2) I am not quite satisfied with the charting / indicators tools offered by TWS (currently trying the demo features)

What is the best charting tool software that can be used as a third party application and accept live data feed from IB? I am looking for something good and economical (cheap). I have read about quoteTracker, are you guys satisfied with it? Is it good enough to carry out most or all of your technical analysis with clarity and ease or do you recommend something else?

I've also read that with IB you can only get limited data that can fill a few days in a chart on Quotetracker. So again i have to look for a reliable live data feeds to subscribe to which will feed the charts with enough data that goes back to weeks and months...etc; do you know of a good one?

2. rmorse

rmorse Sponsor

The data feeds are the same. The exchanges give a discount to non-pros. If you want better charts, there not free or cheap. E-signal is worth a look when your ready to pay for better tools.

3. check out sierra charts.

4. LeeD

LeeD

Exactly! It's simple price differentiation. Same as with airlines giving students lower price or free right to change a ticket.