QQQ crash system

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by bhds, May 11, 2004.

1. bhds

bhds

Any comments on the qqq crash system that was backtested in the june issue of Active Trader?
    I was mostly curious about the 20 day exit with a loss. Was that a typo? I'm not an expert or pro so maybe someone can explain to me how you would avoid a catastrophic loss with that type of exit. :confused:

Thanks,
    bhds

2. bhds

bhds

Anyone :confused:

3. Tony98

Tony98

It works!

4. %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

Bhds;

Twenty days wouldnt be considered long term by many swing position traders/investors;

read rule #1 for long exit & its just above rule #2.
    :cool:

In a multitude of counselors ther is safety
    Solomon,trader king

5. bhds

bhds

I guess what I am saying is that I did not know that leaving 100% or your equity tied up in one stock/instrument for up to 20 days was considered good money management. Whether you are a swing or position trader. Like I said, I'm not a pro:)

6. Tony98

Tony98

Trade the highest percentage of your equity that you are prepared to lose.

7. jeffstr

jeffstr

I coded the EFS and attached if anyone interested. Tested and verified the data from 05/25/99. My results were 94.44 percent profitable. I did change one parameter and that was to enter at the close and not next day's opening. Forgot the numbers but it increased the return. Also tried quite a few other stocks and this system does seem to work under all conditions.

Now the negative. As an example, No signal between 8/7/03 to 02/04/04. Ya gotta have a lot of patience to babysit something and wait 6 months for a signal. Not me, but it was fun coding anyway.

FWIW, I tried the opposite theory for shorting and this system does not work at all. When I get some time, I would still like to understand why.

--Jeff

8. Vishnu

Vishnu