QBI Mechanics

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by joeactuary, Feb 18, 2019.

1. I've been using Mark to Marketing for several years now. I put my investment gain in form 4797. I then transfer just enough income to my schedule C to match my home office expenses and other expenses exactly. This allows me to get my full home office deduction while showing zero income for Schedule C, thus generating zero SE tx.

The problem is, that it appears my leftover profit in form 4797 doesn't transfer over to the QBI worksheets in TurboTax, so no QBI deduction. If I transfer the whole amount to Schedule C, I get the QBI deduction but I also get the SE tax. Anyone know the mechanics of getting the QBI deduction (which I think I'm entitled to) without triggering the SE tax (which I don't think I'm required to pay.)?

2. tiddlywinks

tiddlywinks

My initial thought is that you would need to include the QBI deduction amount in the transfer amount to schedule C, thereby showing a profit on C, so it can then be reduced to 0 with QBI.

It has been years since I did the schedule c transfer. I'm guessing the footnotes regarding QBI would be specifically and necessarily complex, if it is acceptable at all.

Remember, the transfer of trading gains to sched C, is for lack of a better term, an undocumented workaround originating from GreenTraderTax.com, specific to non-entity business traders (MTM + TTS). As the years have gone by, this strategy, along with tax-code changes, has become dangerous... fortunately you have successfully applied the scheme for several years, so that should mean something. Or it could be a big snowball!

SEEK PROFESSIONAL ADVISE!