PV relationship in the Forex... (be kind to me)

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by fiveshorts, Oct 9, 2007.

1. Hi.

I'm new to ET, but have read all I can find on the subject of Price/Volume relationship in the long threads here... I KNOW that a) this might not be the right ET department to be asking a Forex question and b) that I'm not operating at the levels of a dbphoenix (for whose wisdom and time I give hearty thanks), but nevertheless, maybe a bit of cross-pollination might prove useful?

I have at least determined that the relationship of supply/demand; price/volume/spread; S/R et al is the area of study and focus that will make me the best trader I can be.

I see clearly (albeit in a theoretical state as yet) how these relationships can be studied in the stocks/commodities markets as the volume data is descriptive and relevant.

BUT. Forex volume data is, I understand, a different beast.

I just subscribed to the excellent Multicharts platform (Forex Pro version) only to find that they no longer even provide volume data on the charts in any form — valid data or otherwise! Natiurally I'm asking them the same questions...

I have accounts with CSMFX and various MT4 brokerages which DO provide on-the-chart Volume data as a histogram, but offer no real help in determining the source or 'nature' of that data — so I don't know if I should apply what I'm starting to learn, to it. Or are they just smoke 'n' mirrors gimmicks — eye candy for the herd?

Forex is a very liquid market. It has activity. Why (please) is it's Volume data so different to non-forex volume data, if indeed it is at all?

Can I 'trust' the volume data that, say, MetaTrader offers?

Do the principles and relationship between price and volume apply in the same way in Forex as they do elsewhere?