Putting together basic strategies

Discussion in 'Forex' started by Georgii, Oct 24, 2009.

1. Georgii

Georgii

Hello folks,

Hope all is well...

I've been trying to focus lately on developing strategies for trading FX. I am a new trader and have been experimenting and studying for a few months, as work permitted. My goal is to become full time. I would appreciate a review of how I am doing thusfar.

I've taken a look at indicators, and my general feeling is that I feel most comfortable looking at the following things:

* Price patterns (triangles, head and shoulders)

* Support and resistance lines.

* EMAs, large and small, to get a picture of what the general trend is doing.

I have tried candlesticks, but I find I have too much of a bias when I see a red versus green candle, the moment a candle changes color my mood shifts too much. I find that with mono-colored price bars I don't get that feeling.

Fib levels I tried for the life of me to understand, but it simply seems too random to my taste, I just can't get any sense of order from them. The same concerns Elliot Wave, it just seems a bit too voodooesque for my taste.

I have looked at MACD, stochastics, and all the other variety of indicators that Meta Trader 4 offers.

The stochastics seem to make sense on a range bound pair. But all the other indicators I just don't seem to have a feel for at the moment.

In your opinion, could I trade an intraday trading strategy around simply support/resistance and price patterns? It seems that the "price action" based system is what works best for my way of thinking and logic. Simplicity is what I tend to like.

My general trading logic seems to shape up as follows:

1) Check the fundamentals, any news/data releases scheduled, general institutional trader sentiment (WSJ, Bloomberg print and TV, CNBC TV).

2) Multiple time frame analysis. Go with the daily trend only.

3) Draw trendlines from monthly on down. Notice significant price levels.