putting all my efforts

Discussion in 'Journals' started by darktrader, Apr 26, 2011.

1. I'm not english mother tongue so my english is a little poor.

- INTRODUCTION (very important to understand what trading for me means)

I started trading in 2008, daytrading mainly the e-mini nasdaq, just before the financial crisis, the worst scenario for a novice trader, at the time I had around euro 400.000 (I sold an apartment) on my main account, now I have euro 120.000 ….
    I spend an average of euro 60.000 per year for living, so I've lost around euro 200.000 with trading.

I'm selling another apartment but I will just get around euro 40.000 from it.

I'DONT HAVE A JOB.

My 120.000 are full invested in various stocks (very bad actually, banks, solar, and other battered stocks).

I ESTIMATE NOW I HAVE MONEY FOR 2-3 YEARS OF LIVING

- HOW I LOST euro 200.000
    everybody here knows which are the main errors of a novice trader:

1) cut profits and let losers run
    2) adding to losers
    3) close trades under/near breakeven when I managed to recover
    4) overtrading
    5) betting too much to recover losses

you can imagine what happen when a novice trader starts trading with markets that goes up&down 3% - 5% a day, I was so mad that once I started with one contract and I closed my position with 35 contracts on the mini nasdaq. Once I lost $50.000 in a couple of days.

But I didn't give up, I have no choice I'm 38 years old and I won't find a job that gives me euro 5000 per month, I can find maybe a job for euro 1000.
    Also I have a 1 year old daughter and now we are waiting for another one...

- WHAT I HAVE LEARNED FROM MY MISTAKES

I spent the last couple of years trying to set my mind thinking in the opposite way I used to do:

I used to add to losing trades: the opposite is adding to winners
    I used to take profits very soon: the opposite is to let the profits run and aim at big winners