Put Writing timing

Discussion in 'Options' started by RobtF, Sep 26, 2012.

1. RobtF

RobtF

If I wanted to write puts for income with portion of portfolio (on stocks I wouldn't mind owning) is there a sweet spot, say two, three weeks before expiration?

2. I think you will find you need to go out farther than that to get any kind of decent premium. Of course, if you REALLY want to own the stock and just want to buy down your cost a bit, then 2-3 weeks might not be a bad timeframe.

3. around 30 days. i wouldnt write on individual stocks though. use etfs or indexes. specific stock risk eventually wrecks put selling portfolios.

4. Brighton

Brighton

Go to Google Images and type in "option time decay graph."

For some, the sweet spot is to sell at 30 days. For others, it's 45, 70, or 90. As a beginner, I think you'd be playing with fire by selling options with only a couple of weeks to expiration.

5. newwurldmn

newwurldmn

Depends on your view, tolerance for risk, and the specific situation at hand. What are the options pricing and the fundamental view of the stock at that time.

There's no maximizing formula. If there were, someone would have entered it into a computer and that formula would have been arbed away.

6. The problem with your question is,... it's too theoretical.
    Applying theoretical to the "real world" of investing, will cause problems for you.
    For example, theoretically, 3 weeks out is when theta really starts picking up steam, and that final week the theta train is rolling downhill super fast.

But in the real world, the issue is NOT simply one of time decay.
    The issue is always about the "blend".
    That "blend" being,... "time, desired strike price, % return, and dollars earned."

While you may like a theta friendly 3 week trade, your desired strike may be too deep OTM.