Protection against gaps

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by Aetey, Apr 21, 2010.

1. Aetey

Aetey

I've been a lurker around here for some time now and I think it's about time I stepped forward and said hello.

So there, hello board. :p

I'm in the process of designing my first EOD trading system: so far it's results aren't exactly stellar (approx. 5% annualized profit for 2005-2009, 2010 remains to be tested) but it's got a positive expectancy so far - so I'm kinda happy.

But I've got a problem here (and I'm sorry if it sounds kinda noobish but hey, I'm a noob :p) - how do you guys manage gaps? My MM rules do not allow a risk exposure that is greater than 2% of my total account equity on each trade and I enforce those rules with a stop.

But WHAT THE HECK can I do against sudden, and immediate, price changes? Like a stock gapping up (or down) on the open, taking much more out of my position than what I initially intended and against which I wanted to protect myself in the first place?

Is there an easy way to protect against this scenario? I mean easy, not talking about hedging or pair trading here, something * I * could grasp?

Or do I just have to take the hit and move on?

How do you guys set up your stop loss orders? Market price I suppose?

Gapping doesn't happen very often with the stocks I trade (as a matter of fact it happened once over the 5 years of historical data I backtested against) but still, it's kind of a scary thought...

So there you go. Any input would be greatly appreciated,

Aetey

2. spindr0

spindr0

In order to minimize the loss from a stock gapping against you you're going to need something that makes money when that happens. A pair might help unless it's stock specific news. In that case, only a protective option will suffice. But since you stated that you're not interested in pairs trading or hedging, the answer is NOPE, there's nothing you can do.