Proshares tax disaster

Discussion in 'Stocks' started by stock777, Dec 24, 2008.

1. This is the reason why people should only invest in what they understand.

2. Cutten

Cutten

I'm not sure who is more incompetent here: the US tax authorities, Proshares, or daytraders who think 2x and short ETFs are a good idea.

3. Erm... gotta say my man, there's sick opportunity... I know it's hindsight analysis but look at last two times SKF tested 100 and tell me even you couldn't have seen some opportunities to make 10-40% on your investment.

I'm only saying this because I was LATE TO THE GAME on the EASY MONEY in proshares... the way I see it is, if I make my living from pure orderbook scalping, and I was able to add a nice chunk to my christmas bonus by trading those ETFs off charts... there's gotta be something there. Some will call me lucky. I won't argue... but most likely they're missing out.

4. gnome

gnome

Not really a problem in the big picture... you get an offsetting STCL.

5. jprad

jprad

My understanding is that a taxable distribution does not change the cost basis of your investment.

If that's correct, you "made" the $5K distribution.

6. jprad

jprad

2x gearing aside, how does day-trading these things affect someone who's flat come the end of the day?

IMHO, some of these ultra-shorts have incredible intraday trends, which is easy money if you can handle the swings.

So what that's it's a short-term gain? I'd expect the IRS to treat all of these as short term the same way they do if you were to short the underlying.

7. gnome

gnome

By example... let's say you bought an ETF @ $100. That's your cost basis.

Then, you get a distribution of $50.. a mix of STCG and LTCG. You have to pay tax on the distribution as "dividend or capital gain" of some sort.

At the distribution, the price of the ETF drops an equivalent $50. You sell, and take a $50 STCL from your $100 basis cost.