PropTrader - Daily exploits

Discussion in 'Journals' started by PropTraderMTL, Dec 12, 2010.

1. Day trader at a Prop firm who is seeking consistency. I think that by keeping a history of my trading exploits each day it will force me to review my trading performance and to hopefully improve over time.

I'm a complete discretionary trader using charts and reading the tape for entry and exits. No overnight positions and never trade pre or post market.

I prefer to trade high volume stocks where I can take decent size 5k-30k. On certain stocks like Citi I will take up to 100k positions. I prefer stocks that move 5-30c a day but I will trade where ever the action is.

I have been on Elite since I started trading 2 years ago. I have never really posted but I have created a new account to keep this thing kind of anonymous. Although I'm sure those I trade with may recognize me.

Feedback, questions and comments are welcome but I don't want any of the annoying drivel that I see on many threads

2. This is a summary of my month to date:

Date: 01/12/10 Net P&L: $3,042 Balance: $3,042
    Date: 02/12/10 Net P&L: (157) Balance: ($3,200)
    Date: 03/12/10 Net P&L: $2,216 Balance: ($984)
    Date: 06/12/10 Net P&L: $1,095 Balance: $112
    Date: 07/12/10 Net P&L: $2,254 Balance: $2,366
    Date: 08/12/10 Net P&L: $1,149 Balance: $3,515
    Date: 09/12/10 Net P&L: $357 Balance: $3,872
    Date: 10/12/10 Net P&L: $927 Balance: $4,800

Largest contributers to my P&L are $3k in C, $2k AIB, $1k IRE and ($1k) BAC

3. *In case it wasn't clear the first day was a large negative... worst in a while.

I started trading yesterday but noticed a lot of chop and didn't see any clear direction. Days like these are ones where you can lose a lot of $$ without trying. I decided that this is exactly what I was going to be doing and so I left. Good decision I think

4. Date: 10/12/10 Net P&L: $1400 Month to date: $6,200