Proprietary advice (Chicago)

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by Kingfin2, Nov 2, 2005.

1. Kingfin2

Kingfin2

I have been looking at propietary futures trading situations in the Chicago area for a while and wondering what the best deal would be . It seems they all want you to trade spreads for them, where I, also, want to trade outright sometimes(off my numbers,which they discourage). Some places split 50/50 and charge large desk fees, at other places they'll only give you 20 or 30% of profits but give you something of a salary, so you can eat.
    I was a trader on the CME floor,for a quite a while, but decided to leave as I saw the business go to the computers and my P&L drop. I also decided I'd better have a backer as I would have to learn how to do, what I do, online. I am leaning a certain way but thought I would hit this, sometimes, great board for info. Any POSITIVE advice would be greatly appreciated. Thankyou.

2. have you enough contacts to fill paper on the floor , or bring in paper for someone else to fill ( for a split on commissions )?

are you one of the lucky ones who got in on the IPO's of the BOT or CME ?

have you read "the logical trader " ?
    maybe you can contact the author or some of the others who are / were locals for some advice
    good luck to you ...

3. Kingfin2

Kingfin2

I filled orders for a long time and then went on my own, trading, for about the last 5 years. I am a trader now just trying to find a decent place to do it. Thanks for your interest.

4. Kingfin2

Kingfin2

Anybody else? Thanks

5. dont' do it!

6. EPrado

EPrado