Property advise from traders in LA or Vegas

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by barnetda, Jun 15, 2007.

1. Hi

I am a non resident with a vacation home in Florioda. I have had a property there since 1987 and spend 6 months of the year in total in the USA.

Recently i have become dissalusioned with the property taxes and cost of insurance etc in FL. I recently have been investigating 'moving to either LA or Vegas and am amazed at how much property one can get for themoney. Its certainly comparable to Florida. My question is this ;

1. Am i missing something. I am looking to spend 1.5 - 2.0 mill and dont want to make a mistake. I understand that property taxes are roughly half those in Fl so it suits me. Anything i should be aware of in Vegas or LA.

Thanks

2. lindq

lindq

I moved from S. Florida a few years ago for the same reasons. Not worth the hassles any longer.

IMO, I don't know why anyone would want to live in Vegas. Outside the strip, the place is very unattractive, and stuck in a barren Nevada landscape.

Northern San Diego county is still very nice, but gotten pricey.

If you are wintering in the U.S., Scottsdale is wonderful in the winter and you can get a very nice home for 1.5 mil. Can also drive to Vegas or LA in a short day. No storms or high insurance. Nice shops, great golf, still uncrowded, solid property values that should take off again with retiring boomers.)

Send a PM if you want more info.

3. I agree that i wouldnt want to live on the strip in vegas but from what i saw recently the suburbs around henderson looked very nice with easy access to lake mead and a short drive to the mountains?

I hadnt considered Arizona. Thats an interesting one, i will check it.

Property taxes and ins in FL have made having a vacation home there terrible expensive.

I was suprised that property in LA even beverly hills seemed reasonable all things considered.

4. lindq

lindq