Proper Short Technique

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Mr_F, Mar 18, 2001.

1. Mr_F

Mr_F

Hi All

I am new to daytrading. I used an internet broker for three years and am now with IB. Wow, the difference is as going from night to day.

I wish to have advice on the proper technique to enter and exit a short position on an intraday basis. I know this is an open ended question, but I have yet to short a stock and would like some guidance.

Regards

2. That's a pretty wide open question. First, this discussion assumes that you've become proficient at trading the long side of stocks (i.e. proper stop management, risk/reward prospects, chart analysis). If so, then trading the short side is exactly the same, just in reverse. Based upon your analysis of the price action, chart, and market conditions, you simply enter your sell order on the stock. If going after a bid, you must make sure that the bid was an uptick. Otherwise, you'll have to post your short as an offer and wait for someone to hit your offer. If your entry and analysis was correct and the stock begins moving lower, then based upon your stop management or price target, you cover your short by buying the stock back and pocket the profit. If however, the stock moves up from your entry point, then based upon your stop management you may have to buy the stock back higher for a loss. The best way to get comfortable with shorting is to actually just do it and get a feel for the mechanics of it.

3. Mr_F

Mr_F

Thank you zboy. Would a stop be more prudent, or is the stop limit the recommended way to go?

Another question relating to the market downturn last week. Assume one has a covered call position (out of the money), or one has sold put contracts, and the market (and thus the subject stocks) begin to head south. Would taking a short position be the prudent thing to do in both cases?

Regards