Prop Shops

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Bones1955, Aug 11, 2003.

1. Bones1955

Bones1955

Guys,

I didn't mean to start World War III about Prop. I am just starting out and open to opinion. As in all things in life, you make it what it is. I just thought that Prop might be the way to go to get my feet wet.

I have done real well with my long-term investments, now I truly believe most people should integrate short-term trading in the mix.

I believe I can do well either way, but as I said I'm open to opinion.

I enjoy the posts here and have learned much.

Cheers

2. Yep,

It is tonight at the soho grand.

I am leaving in about 15 mins for the train station.

As per props.

You can get lower commish rates at IB (I use IB). In fact, rates are often about half that of most props unless you do a ton of volume.

The only reason to go prop is if you don't have at least 25k.

3. nitro

nitro

P2,

I think this is the first time I have actually seen you say something I disagree with. Reasons to go prop:

1) Access to capital. Even if you have say, 50K, there are some strategies that requie $500K+ of buying power, e.g., Opening Only on more than three or four stocks, Merger Arb on more than one or two deals, Pairs on more than one or two pairs, and others.

2) Economies of scale. Most of these firms have access to news services, state of the art scanners, etc. You can sample these and see if they suit your style without having to deal with the mess of going thru a trial (if they even let you - try getting a trial of Neovest for individual.)