Prop Offers

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by lagwagid, Oct 30, 2002.

1. lagwagid

lagwagid

Hi, I'm a total newbie, and have recently been going on interviews, trying to get into the trading field.

I have a few offers and wonder what people could offer as far as insight into these .. One is from worldco, which is no money down, standard commisions, ticket charges, but the people there just seem way too shady.. from all I've read on ET and in other forums, the general consenses is to stay away..

I also am in the process of interviewing at Hold Brothers, which after meeting a few traders there as well as the completing the first interview, it seemed like it had a good atmosphere.. The traders were generally happy with the place, and there didn't seem to be nearly as much BS fed to me as my experiences with worldco..

Third, I recently went on an interview with a firm that actually offers a salary.. 50k for first year, $15k of which is an end of year bonus, ($15k is minimum bonus with a chance to make even more) .. Not even sure if I have the job, will find out in about 2 weeks. There were about 3x as many people interviewing as there are positions, but I think I did well on the interview. Only time will tell. It is not trading securities though, it is trading futures, mostly government notes, I think, (5,10 year), trading spreads. From all of my research, it seems that most positions with prop firms are trading securities, NYSE or NASDAQ, which I am much more familiar with than futures.. One thing that is better is that there is no requirement to take series 7/55 with futures trading.. What are some of the other differences between trading futures as compared to securities?