prop firms: looking for course of action input/advice

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by resque, May 30, 2008.

1. resque

resque

I'm looking for some input on my current situation and array of choices insofar as prop firms are involved, and I understand this is the place to be asking.

First off:

- I'm a self-taught trader, books and blogs, which means I have interesting gaps in knowledge and no useful connections in the trading industry. I've been trading in earnest for a year now, profitably in net, and quit the day job early this year.

- This year has been, ah, interesting. For many, as I understand. Goodbye solid day trading edges that used to work well, suddenly switched off overnight, hello new short term swing trading strategy. Via a couple of months of cursing and hard work.

- I can reliably make about 5% of capital/month from a retail brokerage account at the moment, based on said short term swing trading strategy. Overnight holds, 2x leverage. That is not enough at my present level of capital to both live on and grow the account. I'm about a factor of two short in leverage. So, the quest for leverage begins.

- I have spent some time reading this forum, in particular the Tuco thread - which is very informative, by the way, for anyone trying to understand the basics of the prop firm world. You guys should archive that one, and thank you to the posters who made it worth my time to look at.

- I'm based in California, probably shifting soon to Washington, but I don't really know how much physical location matters for dealing with prop firms. That's one of those interesting gaps in knowledge.

So, as I see it, my options are:

a) suck it up and take a contract position for a year to double up my capital. Seems like a step backwards, and cuts off time I could be using to work on resurrecting a day trading edge of one sort or another. I don't like being stuck on one working strategy without devoting a lot of time to creating more.