Prop firms and prop traders in London

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by endian, Jul 30, 2006.

1. endian

endian

Hi all

First post I think, but I've been "lurking" for some time.

I've been working in London I banks for the last 7 years, developing trading systems for equities desks. Mostly agency flow, which is why I've never pursued any kind of transfer across (even if one were available, which seems less and less common these days).

I have started thinking about prop trading and prop firms, and wondered what experience other people have of doing that in London. I've read lots about the US firms (and....CUE Don Bright!) on ET, and it seems a set-up that would work great for me. I don't particularly want to trade from home, especially at the start. I worked from home for a year and found it isolating and depressing.

As a consultant I currently pull down a decent slug of cash (mid 100s gbp), and I know that a prop job would mean taking a reduction for at least the first couple of years even if I was successful. That's OK, provided the long-term growth is there.

Are there firms in London that pay basic salaries during "training" and then move up to a % of earnings? If so, how easy/difficult are they to get in to.

I've been reading books about the stock markets since I was 7 years old, so I think it's probably about time to get my feet wet :)

Any advice, comments or slaggings gratefully received.

2. what do you want to trade? equities?

the only place that i know of in london that still offers a salary is goldenberg hehmeyer (ghco). but they deal mostly in fixed income futures and stock index futures.

however...read previous threads concerning them because their percentage is very low (comparably) and they lock you in for 4/5yrs.

you'd be better off forgoing the salary and taking a bigger cut...i.e. being self-employed....