prop firm

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by tentenequals20, Dec 19, 2006.

1. Hi,

I have an MBA and MS in engineering. Made some $ in stock by day trading using models I developed/borrowed...
    am loking to quit my day job and go into trading.

any advice on how one might proceed. I only have about 100K, which is not a whole lot in the silicon valley.

any advice on how I can proceed?
    prop firms, self..

thanks

2. You don't have to quit your day job to go into trading. In fact, you shoud work on longer-term models with EOD data (the Seykota way - only probably just not trend-following), do your research at night, let your system trade for you, and keep your job for awhile. After you try this, after carefully paper trading your system in real time, then starting with a portion of your funds, then get enough annual profits to live on, then quit your job.

I say this because I made the mistake of quitting my day job to trade full time. Now you really HAVE to make money, and that sucks as a trader and you have NO CHANCE right from the beginning, in my opinion. You will overtrade and trade when you shouldn't, because if you don't you can't make money.

If you are at that point now, since you said you made some money in stocks, I would say your still nuts with only 100k to quit your job. AGain, my paranoia is coming out here, because I did that, and I had more than 100k. I was trading and investing for over 10 years while employed in an top-tier Investment Bank. WHen I left to trade on my own, it was a whole different animal. I would definitely not do it that way again. I would have AT LEAST 5 years of annual income in the bank, plus my trading stake. Of course, that's picture perfect. In reality, I'd probably roll the dice again, because that's just me. But it would be risky.