Prop Firm traders

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by vercetti988, Aug 2, 2006.

1. I have few questions to ask to Prop Firm traders. After you join the firm, are you require to trade everyday (M-F 9:30 am - 4:00 pm Eastern Time) even on days or weeks that you know is best to stay away from the market? If your income is a % of the profits that you make not a salary and you made some big profits on Thursday, do you still need to come in to the office on Friday to trade? I actually talked to someone that trades full time at a firm and takes Fridays or any other day off after taking some big profits out the market. I'm new to this and trying to understand how prop firms work.

Thank you

2. They're generally pretty flexible on attendance.

<i>"I actually talked to someone that trades full time at a firm and takes Fridays or any other day off after taking some big profits out the market. "</i>

This is a fine example of pure, unadulterated <b>piker-think</b>. Only losing traders and small-time grinders will ever think like that- let alone actually do this. You probably won't listen to me now, but you'd be best off to <b>never</b> take any sort of trading advice from the above mentioned piker.

Big profits are a reason to <b>push harder</b>- NOT a reason to step back.

3. I agree trading is pretty much like the weather, tomorrow will probably be pretty much like today. Why would you cancel tomorrow ?

4. If you want to be profitable I suggest making your hours 8am-6pm M-F with additional research/work every weekend. Try not to miss any days and push yourself, like Rearden mentioned, harder as you see yourself getting better and better.

There is no reason a newbie trader should even think about anything but becoming profitable. Thinking about shortcuts and 4 day workweeks is incomprehensible to me. If you want to make it, you must be totally dedicated.

5. mizer

mizer