Prop Firm Structure and Earnings Tax Treatment

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by HoustonTrader, Nov 26, 2002.

1. If you are working for one of the prop firms trading FUTURES, are you an employee of the firm and all earnings are taxed as ordinary income, or is there some type of LLC setup where earnings carry through and you are able to take advantage of the 60/40 cap gains to ordinary tax treatment? Also, are traders responsible for the self employment matching tax deductions for medicare and OASDI?

Basically I'm clueless as to how most of the firms set up their employee/employer relationships and how these affect the traders taxes.

I would appreciate it if traders from different firms could chime in with any info. Especially looking for how Schony structures this.

Thanks

2. Does what I'm asking not make sense? Stupid question? No one understands taxes?

I need help. I'm an institutional trader and I have no experience with these tax issues.

3. DaveN

DaveN

I'd guess that of the many prop traders that frequent these boards, the vast majority are not trading futures through their prop firm. Of that few, probably a small fraction are Schony prop futures traders.

I understand the question you are asking, but I have only guesses about the tax treatment. It's a tough question.

Perhaps floating the question directly with Schony (if that's possible). One of the specialized trader tax services may have experience with this as well.

4. cashonly

cashonly Bright Trading, LLC

I know that different firms do things differently. You should check with someone at your firm and if they can't answer you, they should be able to direct you to a professional who can.