Prop Firm Comparison Suggestion

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by HoustonTrader, Dec 6, 2002.

1. Bare with me if this thread is a little long.

Where I'm coming from: I'm currently an institutional commodities trader for one of the energy marketing firms in Houston. I've survived four rounds of lay off's so far, but my firm, like most in the industry, faces significant financial risk in the coming year. Just in case something unfortunate happens, I'm researching other trading careers. I have no link with any of the prop firms.

What I've noticed on this board so far: Ever since I found this site and started reading through the different threads, I constantly run across "new" members who do nothing but make shady allegations and outright bashing of different firms. In my industry, we don't give a shit what different traders think of each firm. It's pointless. The only thing that we care about is what our current employer is paying us and what is the bonus payout percentage. When I read this board, it sounds like a bunch of used car salesman telling me not go here or there because that other dealer will sell me a lemon or try to screw me by charging me to much. While there is a need to contact a firm for specifics on possibly complex issues, there are way to many answers stating to contact the firm or "pm me for details". Again, reminds me of car dealerships that won't quote you a price on the phone and then tell you to come down to the lot so they can do a high pressure sales pitch on you. Good firms, like good trades, sell themselves without needing to hide anything or do a sales pitch.