Promotion or Trade?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by HispaTrader, Jul 18, 2005.

1. I am an Engineer for a well-known telecommunications company and have been offerred a technical manager position. This has been my career since I graduated from college. This year I started to trade futures part-time, 3 days a week, and I love it! My dilemma is this, if I accept the promotion, I can not trade anymore. I have to work full-time to fulfill my new responsibilities. In my opinion, this is a great opportunity that pays very well. I have worked hard for this but I didn't think that I would develop such a passion for trading!

I have been learning about trading and technical analysis since May 2004 and have devoured many, many books on the subject. I believe I have a solid grasp of technical analysis and I feel I can truly become a consistently successful trader, expecially because I have no mental baggage or hang-ups. What I need is EXPERIENCE! I understand that trading is a probability numbers game and I am able to let go of a losing trade without any problems whatsoever. However, as you all know, education takes you only so far, and one needs experience if one is to truly succeed. My goal is to eventually trade for a living.

So, I would like to hear from other traders who have faced similar difficult decisions and what was their outcome. I must decide whether or not I should postpone my journey to become a trader and take the promotion. This is a very hard decision for me, because although I love my current job, it still doesn't compare to trading for me. My gut feeling tells me that I should "go for it!" Although I am a confident person, realistically, I may not be profitable for another year or longer. I have been trading for about 5 months and am a breakeven trader. Let me stop here since this post is getting too long. Thanks in advance.

2. hola ... hello ... welcome to ET