programmer with master's degree & tons of experience with IB

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by wdudziak, May 13, 2009.

1. wdudziak

wdudziak

Hi Guys!

I'm a software programmer with lots of experience developing automated trading solutions for the Interactive Brokers platform.

I'm looking to monetize my experience and software development skill by building custom automated trading platforms for other day traders with "systems".

Does anyone have suggestions as to how I can approach this market - I really don't have much of any idea.

thanks in advance,

Will

email:
    website@dudziak.com

2. how much do you charge per hour?

3. Will,

I have a question...

I'm thinking of "copying" IB's TWS platform. Well, at least some minor parts of it so that I could use it as an order entry platform for a different broker.

How hard a task might that be and what might I need to spend to accomplish this?

Thanks!

4. wdudziak

wdudziak

I'd expect to charge on a per-project basis.

I'm very familiar with the "discovery" or 'quoting' phase of software projects - it was an integral role of my last job. I am am usually able to assess fairly well the ammt. of effort a given development task will take before writing the first line of code, thus I'd prefer (and most clients do as well) to go the route of project-based pricing.

5. wdudziak

wdudziak

Risktaker,

For the remainder of this post, "copy" is meant to mean "build with inspiration from". with that understanding, I will continue this post...

My major familiarity with IB is via the APIs they provide (application programming interfaces). The APIs allow a 3rd party program (mine) to interact with TWS, gathering real-time data, making decisions, and executing real-time trades automatically.

If you are interested in copying the actual TWS interface (the part that a casual user interacts with) to use with another broker, you have a whole host of software issues.

primary among them are: