profitseers stolen sand system*

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by profitseer, Sep 18, 2002.

1. for es example

1. use a 1 point stop and reverse but do not trail.

2. When market finally moves away from your stop, then trail a very very wide stop.

3. When wide stop is triggered go back to step 1.

*Inventors notes: This is an original system I just stole. Optimiztion and curve fitting for the wide trailing stop shouldn't adversely affect the integrity of the system as long as you stick to the basic line in the sand principal.

2. *More inventors notes.

I've traded step one of this system using mkt orders and was able to keep the average loss at under 1.5. So after you test, add 1 tick per trade for a total of 1.5 per whipsaw (That is standard procedure but it is fun to write stuff like I am a scientist.)

possible guidlines for wide stop would be n times number of whipsaws resulting from step one. For example
    if n=1.5 and you got whipsawed 6 times you'd be $450 in the hole so you could set your trailing stop at a minimum of 9 points.

Following that strategy would give you wider stops in a choppy mkt and tighter stops in a trend. Is that what you want?

You could do it backwards with some kind of countdown system. Say no whip=ts 20
    1 whip=ts19
    2 whip=ts18 etc.

That gives you wide stops in a trend and tight stops in a chop which is what I like personally.

And then there is a lot of stuff availabe using percentages to set trailing stops. (not to mention atr)

So really, the only thing different is betting that the tight line in sand stop will not get whipsawed enough to underperform just a straight fixed trailing stop and reverse system, and also that the tight line stop will enable you to use a much wider trailing stop than you would with a straight trailing stop and reverse.

3. See, the idea is to quit complaining about whipsaws in always in trend systems and to just turn around and incorporate it into the system.