profitability....

Discussion in 'Trading' started by paulus, Jul 11, 2003.

1. paulus

paulus

hi,

as a new trader i have a system with a risk reward 1:2,
    meaning mostly 0.75pt:1.5pt's or 0.5pt's:1pt;
    with a win-rate around 35/40% (*) i am almost flat on a monthly basis (not taken into account commisions, slippage, etc..);
    (every now and then i lose discipline but that's another point);
    what could i possibly do to become profitable, apart from increasing my RR to 1:3 ? any suggestions ?
    what win-rate should one have trading the short term time-
    frames as i do ?

i like to thank all people for their contributions, in advance;

kind regards,

paulus

2. Ebo

Ebo

Get a real job with a salary!

3. paulus

paulus

i assumed that this was one of the questions every (new) trader was confronted with ?

4. acrary

acrary

For purposes of discussion I'm assuming you're trading ES.
    I can think of 4 ways to improve profitability.

1). Increase size - If your money management is very conservative like 1/2 of 1% risked per-trade you could increase it to say 1%. You'd think this would double profits and drawdown, but in reality it more than doubles profits without quite doubling drawdown. It works because of compounding (you remember compound interest?...same principle). The key is to make sure the method is consistent. If not, you'll spend lots of time just getting back to breakeven.

2). Improve expectancy - This is the amount you expect to make for each trade you execute. It's calculated as:

e = (aw * pw) - (al * pl) where
    e = expectancy per-trade
    aw = average win size in points
    pw = percent of winners
    al = average loss size in points
    pl = percent of losers

In your post the expectancy is
    e = (1.5 * .35) - (.75 * .65) or .0375

At this rate it'll take 27 trades before you can expect to have banked 1 point.