Profitability Question and Example

Discussion in 'Trading' started by zerfetzen, May 10, 2008.

1. Hi,
    I'm very new to the idea of trading. I have a question. I have read a variety of articles, posts, etc., but am trying to learn the basics. Here is the question:

How would you determine a requirement for profitability of a trade, a priori?

For example, let's take an average American making I think about $45,000 annually for household income, which is in the 25% tax bracket.

Let's say this person dabbles with swing trading, and buys 100 shares of a $5 stock, investing $500, but also paying $10 with an online brokerage.

If this person sells the stock tomorrow at $6 per share, does the $10 brokerage fee apply up front (which would return $588) or at the time of the sale (which would return $590)?

For the next question, I'll assume the brokerage fee was taken up front, and so this person receives $588. At the end of the year, this specific transaction is listed on a Schedule D, and after (25%) taxes, only $441 remains, causing the 20% increase in the sale price over the buy price to actually be a loss.

If this is true, it does not seem that 1 or 2-day swing trading of stocks can be profitable. I have calculated daily percentage change on several stocks, and cannot find a single instance of daily change that could, even if predicted accurately, yield profits.

If I am thinking about this wrong, please point it out. Thanks.

2. sg20

sg20

Stock is not the good instrument to day trade, it's more likely to buy and hold for some period for a small percentage gain. You'll need to read a few books on TA, FA. etc. in order to understand the movements behind a stock or the market in general. There are many interesting factors involves so don't skip anything because what you don't know might hurt you later; things such as news, earning...and continue to put more efforts into doing more searches on the market as you come along will help. Good luck.

sg20