Profit Target

Discussion in 'Trading' started by mrfredo82, Aug 31, 2007.

1. mrfredo82

mrfredo82

When swing trading in the equity market (3 - 7 days), where do you set your profit target for calculating reward-to-risk ratio? When determining my entry action, I set my entry price target at .25 above previous day's resistance and stop-loss at .125 below previous day's support.

I would expect to set profit target at strongest level of support within the last 1-2 weeks for a swing trade like this. However, I would like to know if this is the most optimal procedure. Your thoughts are appreciated. Thanks.

Needless to say, I am a novice.

2. Swing trading only works when there is a clear trend. For example now there is NO clear trend.

When buying index dips the stock shouldn't plunge about one third of the previous dip. If it did maybe the trend changed this day.

When there is a trend, buying dips actually REDUCES risk, contrary to what many people think.

3. I had a problem with this when I was swing trading as well. I'd set a 1:3 risk/ reward ratio, but often found that even though thats a good ratio, the targets were either too small or too large (because of volatility). This was all done off a daily chart...maybe I should have used a 15 min, but oh well. Now I day trade. I agree with the above poster. Swings are best for trending markets. In fact i had some good gains on CAT and VLO in January, but now... (sigh).

cm

4. mrfredo82

mrfredo82

I understand the equities market is very volatile right now (hopefully it will stabilize next week). However, assuming the market were stable and trending, how would you set your profit targets for swing trades? Would you use tools such as support/resistance, fibonacci retracements (from past pullbacks from that same stock), cup and handle pattern, double bottom, double top, etc?