Professional Traders. need advice

Discussion in 'Trading' started by CollegeTrader, Nov 12, 2008.

1. It seems everyone on ET is killing it. So what is everyone doing that im not? Im 19 and im stuggling. Am i towards the bottom of the range for starting traders. Seems like most of these people i see post killer days, day after day started trading at 6 like tiger woods did with golf or something. I study the markets everynight and i bust my ass learning to trade. My life honestly consist of school, work, and studying the market. This is my first year in the futures market but its kind of hard to get your ass handed when you work so hard at something. I want to be a professional trader what is some advice for me to be doing so i can possibly trade professionally in the next 5 years? As of today i have stopped live trading and will go back to paper trading. Man i looking in the future and i dont know where i can get a job and get a decent salary to make a run at a professional career. Maybe im not the only one who thinks about this but its a concern of mine. Im trying to trade with small capital but its extremely hard. Most of the time im right about the direction but ill get whipped and have to close at a loss. Thats partially why i take trading with the upmost seriousness. I started trading and learning on the ES but honestly its to expensive for my blood. So i am going to paper trade the NQ for he next 6 mo. I do have a connection to a floor trader and i plan on soon buying a ticket to chicago to talk to him pick his brain and will stay up there for about a week. Im posting this to the ET community because im in a suburban neighborhood with zero traders and its really hard to try and learn by yourself. Any advice or comments are very appreciated. sorry for the long post guys.

2. All the people I've known on the floor and off, who've made a living trading had trading and only trading as a full-time job.