Pro Poker Player + Pro Trader?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by DegenFarang, Oct 29, 2005.

1. Greetings,

Sorry if this post takes place nine times a week...I'm new here and couldn't find anything similar in a search.

-------------

I am looking into being a professional trader and wanted to see if anybody could provide input on how I should proceed. A bit of background on me.

I graduated from the University of California in 2004 with a liberal arts degree. I did corporate sales for a year then started a marketing company. I have been a professional poker player for the past year.

I have been interested in the stock market since high school and have traded my Ameritrade account successfully for the past three years. I am almost always long and I buy well known companies (EBAY, HAL, GOOG, AAPL).

-------------

After reading Fooled By Randomness and hearing of trading in a few other places...I am intensely interested in researching it more and possibly entering the field.

I am 25 and have the luxury of multiple streams of passive income now and a job (poker) that is very flexible w/ regard to my time and where I live.

So my question is...given the above...what would be my best course of action to:

A. Find out if trading is right for me
    B. Learn to trade successfully
    C. Enter the field

I would be willing to do intense study on my own, or take any sort of job that would 'show me the ropes' without concern for the amount of pay.

Thanks in advance and sorry if i've just broken some sacred rule around here.

2. get out of poker and into trading and or investing 100%. The Poker knowledge doesnt scale well - you cant trade 100000 shares of KK or QQ or AA , but you can while trading.

3. I can play for higher and higher stakes...and a lot of the research I have done shows a huge correlation between the two skill-sets.