Premium Sellers vs. Option Buyers

Discussion in 'Options' started by Squilly_D, Aug 14, 2013.

1. Hello All,

I’m relatively new to ET, I’ve had an account for a while but didn’t post much. I started to take trading, and specifically option trading, seriously in November of 2012 (practiced the month of October with papermoney then went live with real money in Nov). Anyway, now that I’ve gained experience option trading (learning from the service tastytrade) I wanted to poll the option forum for people’s experiences, opinion, etc. on how individuals here trade options.

I myself lean more toward selling premium in options strategies. I use an assortment of strategies, but at any point in time, I like to keep my THETA positive across my entire portfolio. My portfolio currently consist of IC’s, Credit/Debit verticals, a calendar/diagonal or two, naked calls and/or puts, and maybe a short straddle or strangle. I make the decision of strategy based on vol in the underlying and I augment my portfolio with different strategies based on market conditions.
    Prior to being a member of tastytrade (before November 2012), say around 2010 when I first dabbled with options, I would buy calls and puts, but at the time I didn’t really understand option trading, I just knew that I could use these “things” to possibly make a greater sum of money. I’ve come a long way sense then and I’ve also learn to incorporate more TA into my strategic approach to trading.

Anyway, I haven’t purchased a call or put sense. But now I believe I can also incorporate them into my portfolio. It’s not often when I’m right on direction, but there have been times where my conviction was high, the probability of the direction was high and it turned out that I was right. When those scenarios approach me again, I will utilize them to see how I do.