Pre-pay taxes?

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by funky, Apr 10, 2003.

1. funky

funky

I underpaid my taxes last year and now I'm paying estimated taxes for this year. This sucks, obviously, but I starting thinking...if you are a trader and make money, do you get reamed for not pre-paying your taxes? How does this work? I just started trading this year and never thought about this until now. If I made, say $100k this year, I could end up having to pay a shitload of pre-paid taxes next year by IRS rules. Now that would really suck.

2. If you don't "prepay" taxes, I'm assuming you mean making the estimated quarterly tax payments.

The IRS will penalize you, but its not really a penalty. They just charge you for interest (treasury rate or so) on how much you should have paid quarterly.

It's my understanding that most traders choose not to pay estimated taxes and accept the penalty (interest charge) because 1) traders' incomes can vary greatly from year to year, and 2) most traders would like to keep the capital for their trading until April 15.

You make it sound like you are doomed with a big tax bill if you don't pay estimated taxes, but you are basically "only" charged the interest rate, which is even low by most standards (ie. credit cards, etc.).

3. gnome

gnome

Not quite. There are penalties in addition to the interest amount. Even if you're fully paid by the 4th estimated payment, there can still be penalties for not paying more of it earlier. It has happened to me several times, especially when my 4th quarter was bigger. (It's quite unfair, but the IRS literally expects you to ANTICIPATE how much you are GOING TO MAKE and make a quarterly estimate on your ESTIMATED PROFITS.)

4. funky

funky

Maybe turbotax screwed me over, but I was under the impression that I had to pre-pay taxes for this year b/c I had underpaid taxes for 2002. This is what the turbotax online told me.