Practicing Stan Weinstein's Method

Discussion in 'Journals' started by traderprg, May 28, 2014.

1. I forgot how I got into a trading. But I remember being excited reading Stan Weinstein’s book a few years back. I dream of employing Stan’s method to screen stocks that are stage 2 breaking out with huge volume.

Late last year, I jumped back to the screener idea as soon as wife said she is pregnant. With the goal of getting supplementary income, I started trading stocks in the US market last November with a fund of 14k.

Time is limited so I mainly review my orders and run the screener in weekend and let the sell-stop work through the week. I keep an eye during the week to update sell-stop if necessary.

My total trading experience has been around 12 months. Currently holding 4 stocks plus cash, total worth of 18k. see screenshot.

[​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Had sell-stop 1.72 for MPET based on the trendline. It was triggered yesterday.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. Set a sell limit around 12.40 for JGT based on the swing rule - peak around $11 in july, low $9.6 in Feb. 11-9.6+11 = 12.4 which surprisingly match the 2012 support.

4. Done weekly review and screening (surpisingly nothing stands out for stage 2 breakout. So no new orders planned). Updated my sellstop.

[​IMG]

And surprisingly this week screener didn't return any result.

5. JGT has been slow going. From an opportunity cost point of view, it is not worth it. I have raised the sell-stop to 10.88 of the last Oct resistance level. I will dump it next monday If there is a stronger stock to choose from the screener result.