Possible array question in C++

Discussion in 'App Development' started by raymam1, Oct 4, 2011.

1. raymam1

raymam1

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post here, and I am a very green C++ programmer, so some insight on how to visualize my trading system would be very helpful.

I created a strategy using Market Delta's proprietary language, RTL, and have decided to re-code in C++ and to hopefully automate the execution.

Instead of using a time-based periodicity, I am using a price range periodicity - like 5 ES ticks for example.

My idea is that I would need to use arrays to store the current and each previous 5 tick range in order to perform the necessary calculations required for my signals...Is this an accurate assessment, or do I need to consider another alternative?

And for those who don't understand what I mean by 5 tick range, here is the following:

Ex) Price trades from 1088-1085, but instead of monitoring the price changes and trades on a 5 min period, I would monitor the trades that occur at each price level. Once a 5 tick range has been exceeded either higher or lower from the previous last price, a new 5 tick range would be created. However, I would need to store the trades, and prices that occur within those ranges, then monitor the additional prices and trades that occur in subsequent 5-tick ranges until my signal criteria are met.

Thanks for your help!

dartmus likes this.
  2. byteme

byteme

Array or linked list of Range Bar structs/objects....

Depends on how performant, memory efficient, lossless/lossfull you need the data structure arrangement to be.

The Range Bar struct/object encapsulates all the information you need to know about that specific bar e.g open, close, volume at price....depends on your specific analysis requirements.

As each tick comes in you decide whether to update the current Range Bar or create a new one (or retrieve from an object pool) and add it to the tail of the list.

Tools like Esper are good at this sort of thing.