Position Greeks

Discussion in 'Options' started by falcon, Sep 14, 2009.

1. falcon

falcon

Hi,

I'm new to trading options and in particular the greeks, so would like to get some clarification.

If I had a position on that looks like this:

- 55 delta
    -1.70 gamma
    +132 theta
    -360 vega

am I correct in saying that if the underlying falls by 5 points & IV goes up by 5 points my position should be something close to this:

-55 d X 5= -$275
    -360 v X 5 = -$1800
    +132 t = + $132

= - $1393

I know it's not an exact science but am trying to get a better understanding of my overall position.

Thanks in advance.

2. dmo

dmo

You're short delta so if the underlying falls 5 points you will make money, not lose it. Also keep in mind that you are short gammas, so the delta will change in the direction that is unfavorable to you as the underlying moves. In other words, as the underlying falls your deltas will become less short. So you will make less money than your deltas would seem to predict (if the underlying moves in your direction) or lose more money than the deltas predict (if the underlying moves against you).

3. Maybe I do not understand option greeks the way I thought I did but:

1) I agree with Dmo, if you are short delta you want the stock to move down all other things being equal.

2) This sure looks like the greeks of someone who is short a FOTM call... I do not think the calculation you made gives you a proper representation of your risk, let me explain: the call is FOTM so the underlying would have to move alot for you to risk being assigned. This is illustrated by the fact that your Vega risk is many times higher. If I were in such a position, the main thing I would look at is volatility. If you want to check what would be the theorical value in the example you gave, just try some free online options calculator instead of doing it by hand. Try optionslab, it works fine.