% Poseurs on ET?

Discussion in 'Feedback' started by Thunderdog, Oct 15, 2005.

What % of ET members do you think are poseurs?

1. 0% - 25%

5 vote(s)
    5.6%
  2. 26% - 50%

14 vote(s)
    15.7%
  3. 51% - 75%

20 vote(s)
    22.5%
  4. 76% - 95% (note my optimistic limit)

50 vote(s)
    56.2%
  1. I have been visiting ET regularly now for a few years, and I get the impression that it is in the process of degrading somewhat.

When I first joined, I thought it was a fairly useful resource, even though I identified a number of poseurs. There are some in just about every crowd. However, I am getting the impression that these poseurs are beginning to crowd out everyone else. Does anyone share this impression? It seems that nearly everyone here is making outsized profits regularly with little or no drawdowns. Firm price forecasts are available at the drop of a hat. Perhaps I am mistaken, but ET seems to be getting overrun by self-styled overnight gurus and their toadies.

Perhaps this is my clarion call.

2. It's not as bad as it was 6 months ago when pretty girl and her gang was here.

I remember people bragging how they were prop traders making $20 million a year with 2000 to 1 leverage. If you called bs, you were verbally assaulted by the whole gang.

3. I think ET has 3 distinct underlying divisions.

1. the hard-core trader/tech talk/discussions - that are so advanced I've gotten headaches just trying to read thru a few posts.

2. the intermediate threads/posts that mix trader-talk and theories with some BSing. Very excellent and friendly Q/A-type structure that is important.

3. the lighter, whimsical, comical parts that seem to be sprinkled throughout ET - non-serious stuff, just for stress relief and kidding around. ET has very good, talented writers and even comedians among its membership. Some the best in the world.

overall, I think ET has a little something for everyone.