Portfolio123

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by chaimshmerel, Jan 31, 2006.

1. I am new to this thread. I recently subscribed to Portfolio123. Every time I run a simulation and make the smallest of changes, I get vastly different results. Even a change as small as a week difference in inception date. This is troubling to me, as I am not sure how accurate their results are. Their seems to be one user on the forums who goes by the name of Denny, who seems to have mastered the art of portfolio123 simulation and executing well. I can't seem to find many others who are delighted with this product.

Does anyone else have any comments, either good or bad about the use of this product.

Thanks,
    Chaim

2. This looks like an exciting site. For me, a way to increase my sharpe ratio, because my current system has a low ratio for some reason. Is there a way to use other peoples models? For example the value with momentum strategy looks great, 50% returns and a 2.4 sharpe ratio.

3. Yes, you can use other peoples models and make a few adjustments.
    It all seems to good to be true though. I just don't know how accurate or good the data is. It appears very sensitive to the slightest tweak.

4. I tested it without any valuation and used the ranking system based on price strength relative to the universe of stocks and the returns appear realistic, 20% or so return with 40% drawdowns from 2001-present.

Id like to find a way to code my own relative strength ranking system on another platform and see if the method has validity.
    Currently, I dont have the ability to rank a universe and only select from the top 90%.

Seeing how well some of the systems posted do, it seems this could be the future of value investing.